Sri Lanka Chapter

Brief History of the Sri Lanka Chapter

The SLHPBA was formed in 2011 – with a membership of 50 specialists including HPB Surgeons, GI Surgeons, General Surgeons, Gastroenterologists, Hepatologists, Radiologists and Pathologists, with an interest in HPB Disease.

The founder President was Prof Janaka De Silva, a Consultant Gastroenterologist, who is the Professor of Medicine at the University of Kelaniya and currently the Director of the Post graduate Institute of Medicine in Sri Lanka. The Association organized clinical meetings regularly. At the Annual Academic Sessions of the College of Surgeons of Sri Lanka – the SLHPBA is entrusted in organizing a symposium on HPB Surgery – regularly.

The Association has its own website – which is currently undergoing restructuring.

The number of members of the IHPBA required to fulfil the criterion to become a chapter of IHPBA was only possible in December 2015, and this was inaugurated in Colombo on the 12th of December 2015, by Prof P Jagannath, President of IHPBA.


President  Prof Aloka Pathirana
Secretary General Dr Rohan Siriwardena
Treasurer Dr Thejana Wijeratne
Editor Dr S Sivaganesh
  Dr Anura Banagala



c/o Mr Dayananda
Manager-Administration, CSSL
6, Independence Avenue
Colombo 7
Sri Lanka

Telephone: +94 11 2682290

News archive:

Report on the inauguration of the Sri Lanka Chapter and outreach project


Corporate Partners

Ethicon logo
Angiodynamics logo
Sirtex logo

If you are interested in becoming a Corporate Partner of the IHBPA please contact

Find out more