A Board of Directors known as the "Council" manages the International Hepato-Pancreato-Biliary Association, Incorporation. The Board is made up of the President, Past President, President Elect, Secretary General, Secretary General Elect, Treasurer, Treasurer Elect, Chairman of the Scientific Committee, Congress Chairman, HPB Editor-in-Chief, Members at Large and the three Regional Presidents of E-AHPBA, AHPBA and A-PHPBA.


Oscar Imventarza

Buenos Aires, Argentina

Read Biography

Past President

P. Jagannath, MBBS MS FACS FAMS FRCS (Eng)

Mumbai, India

Read Biography


President Elect

Martin Smith

Johannesburg, South Africa

Read Biography

Dr William Jarnagin image


William R. Jarnagin, MD, FACS

New York, USA

Read Biography


Secretary General 

Norihiro Kokudo, MD, PhD, FACS, FRCS

Tokyo, Japan

Read Biography


Chairman Scientific Programme Committee

Rowan Parks, MD FRCSI FRCS(Ed)

Edinburgh, UK

Read Biography


Treasurer Elect

Elijah Dixon, MD FRCSC FACS

Calgary, Alberta Canada

Read Biography

Secretary General Elect

Kevin Conlon,

Dublin, Ireland

Read Biography


Members at Large

  • Rebecca Minter, Dallas, USA
  • Andrea Frilling, London, UK
  • Kyung-Suk Suh, Seoul, Korea
  • Feng Shen, Shanghai, China
  • Thomas van Gulik, Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Regional Presidents

AHPBA: Rebecca Minter, Dallas, USA
A-PHPBA: Dong-Wook Choi, Seoul, Korea
E-AHPBA: Christos Dervenis, Athens, Greece

2018 World Congress Chairman

Pierre-Alain Clavien, Zurich, Switzerland

2020 World Congress Chairman

Christopher Christophi, Melbourne, Australia

Corporate Partners

Ethicon logo
Angiodynamics logo
Sirtex logo

If you are interested in becoming a Corporate Partner of the IHBPA please contact

Find out more