Australia and New Zealand Chapter

History of the ANZHPBA

The AHPBA was formed in 1998 as an association within the Gastroenterological Society of Australia (GESA). The intention was to create a multi-disciplinary group to further the practice of HPB medicine and surgery. Successful activities of the AHPBA included organising some meetings, usually in association with the Australian Gastroenterology Week (AGW), and facilitating an overseas fellowship (The Paul MacMaster Fellowship). The group also had some dialogue with government through participation in MSAC committees.

In April 2005, for a variety of reasons, the decision was made to reform the Association outside the GESA. The Australian New Zealand Hepatic, Pancreatic and Biliary Association Inc was registered in early 2006. The Secretariat is based in Adelaide.


 President Arthur Richardson
 Treasurer Vincent Lam
 Training Committee Chairman David Cavallucci
 Reseach Committee Chairman Thomas Hugh
 President Elect  Thomas Wilson
 Board Members Jonathan Koea
  Kaye Bowers
  Christos Apostolou
  Thomas O'Rourke
  Marty Smith
  Mo Ballal
  David Yeo


Leanne Rogers
Executive Officer
Tel: +61 8 8362 8939
Fax: +61 8 8362 8939

ANZGOSA and ANZHPBA Combined Meeting - Risk Measurement & Management
8 - 9 October 2018
Te Papa National Museum
Wellington, New Zealand

Invited speakers: Professor Thomas Aloia and Professor David Flum
Theme - "Risk: Measurement and Management"



Corporate Partners

Ethicon logo
Angiodynamics logo
Sirtex logo

If you are interested in becoming a Corporate Partner of the IHBPA please contact

Find out more